23rd Annual Summer Institute for Educational Interpreters
The Institute will begin at 2:00 pm on Monday and continue through noon Thursday. There will be evening sessions on both Monday and Tuesday. Participants who elect to stay in the cottages at TSD may check in on Monday between 10:00 am and 2:00 pm.
Small group sessions will cover the following topics:
Sign to Voice Interpreting EIPA
Ethics of Educational Interpreting Frozen Texts
Role and Responsibilities Interpreting Social Studies
Appropriate Tutoring for Deaf Students Idioms
Socially Restricted Signs Individual Feedback
Classifiers Deaf Culture
Interpreting for Students with Multiple Disabilities
Large group sessions will cover:
“Brain Gym” activities for Deaf Students and Interpreters
Transition for Deaf/Hard of Hearing Students
Non-Traditional Students (Going Back to College…)
Update on Recent Proposed Interpreter Law
Deaf Students on the Autism Spectrum
Troubleshooting Hearing Aids and Cochlear Implants
Evening sessions will provide opportunities for interaction with Deaf community members, as well as an Interact performance and TRID reception.
Transportation costs will be the responsibility of the participants. (School systems are encouraged to reimburse the participants in accordance with State of Tennessee approved travel regulations.)
Participants may stay in the cottages at the Tennessee School for the Deaf. Persons will be assigned on a two-per-room basis (each room has 2 twin beds). Each bedroom has its own private bathroom. There will be no cost for this campus housing. Participants are free to make other arrangements for housing; any associated costs will be the responsibility of the participant.
Continental breakfasts and snacks will be provided each day at no cost to participants. Lunches are the responsibility of the individual. An extended time period will be given each day to allow participants to go back to the cottage (participants may use the kitchens) or to go off-campus for lunch. There are numerous full-service and fast food restaurants within a few miles of TSD.
Each participant should bring his/her own linen (sheets, pillowcases, towels, blanket, etc.) Participants will have access to washers and dryers.
Casual dress is encouraged. Participants should bring a light jacket or sweater, since classes are held in air-conditioned rooms.
Registration and fees
Institute registration is limited due to space constraints. The completed registration form (including registration fee of $55 for TN residents/$75 for out-of-state residents) must be postmarked no later than May 18, 2015. Registration is on a first-come, first-served basis. Please see attached registration form.
A registration fee of $55.00 in-state/$75.00 out-of-state is required. Please send a check or money order made payable to PTCA of TSD (Parent Teacher Counselor Association of the Tennessee School for the Deaf). Completed registration forms and checks should be mailed to:
Tennessee School for the Deaf
2725 Island Home Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37920