Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)


Here are answers to some of the most Frequently Asked Questions we receive...

What are your public hours?
9:00am – 5:00pm, Monday – Friday OR by appointment

My materials are due and you are never there when I call.  How can I communicate with you?
Please either leave a message on our voice mail or e-mail us.  Someone will return your call as soon as possible.  We apologize for the inconvenience, but due to budget cuts we are short-staffed.

What is the Library Services for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing (LSDHH)?

  • Lending collection of books, media programs, and assistive devices – for adults and children
  • Information & Referral Services
  • Demonstration area of Assistive Devices beneficial for people with hearing loss
  • Reference collection including both consumer and academic magazines and newsletters
    • Special Programming for people who are D/deaf, hard of hearing, and Deaf-Blind
    • In-Service Training for Librarians & Community Public Awareness Programming
    • Website:  http://www.tndeaflibrary.nashville.gov – also accessible from the NPL Home Page – click at the bottom of the page under “Outreach” then “Deaf & Hard of Hearing”

Who may borrow materials from LSDHH?

Nashville Residents

Any Nashville Public Library cardholder in good standing may borrow materials.  "Holds" may be placed on any print or media item (DVDs, CD-ROMs and VHS) to be picked up at any NPL location.  Equipment may ONLY be picked up and returned to the Library Services for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing.

Tennessee Residents living outside Nashville

Anyone living in the State of Tennessee may borrow materials, free of charge.  We also “ship” materials via UPS directly to the patron and pay return shipping fees.  Please see our “Rules for Borrowing.”

What if I live in a state bordering Tennessee, but work in Tennessee.  May I still borrow materials from your library?
No, you must be a Tennessee resident because funding for the program comes from an appropriation by the Tennessee State Legislature and from the Nashville Public Library.

How long may I keep the materials I borrow?
materials in the Library Services for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing collection have a 3-week loan period.

If the materials I borrowed were shipped to me via UPS, do you need to have them  back at the library on the "Due Date"?
No, BUT YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE to either contact us on or before the "Due Date" to either have the item(s) renewed or inform us that you are ready to have them picked up - no later than the "Due Date."

Can I renew the materials I have borrowed?
If no one else has placed a “hold” on the items you borrowed, then they may be renewed for an additional 3 weeks.

Do you charge overdue fines for late materials?
Yes!  Charges are $.10/day for each overdue books and $1.00/day for each overdue media or equipment item. 

How do I pay overdue fines if you shipped the materials to me?
Please write a check Payable To: Nashville Public Library and place it inside a well marked envelope with your items when they are mailed back to us.  Of course, you may also mail the fine to us. (Credit and Debit cards are not accepted.)