Tennessee Department of Health - Newborn Hearing Screening


Organization Contact Name
TN Newborn Screening Follow up
Email Address
(615) 532-8462 (Voice)
Organization Description

The newborn hearing screening program is responsible for assuring all infants born in Tennessee receive a hearing screening before discharge or prior to one month of age. The program follows a 1-3-6 plan for newborns to assure that:  

1 - All infants will be screened for hearing loss prior to discharge or before 1 month of age.  

3 - All infants who do not pass the screening will have a diagnostic audiological evaluation before 3 months of age.  

6 - All infants identified with hearing loss will receive appropriate early intervention services no later than 6 months of age.  

AND - All families of children with hearing loss will have access to parent support services.  

Hearing screening is required by Tennessee Code Annotated Title 68, Chapter 5, Part 9, Sections 901-906, Rules and Regulations 1200-15-01 (Claire’s Law, July 2008). 

Updated: December 4, 2023

Login or register a new account to claim this resource.