Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)

Fiction

Picture of open hands holding a small white house with a red roof; "USA Today Bestseller"
NEW
Summary: 

If someone was in your house, you'd know ... Wouldn't you?
But the Hunter family are deaf, and don't hear a thing when a shocking crime takes place in the middle of the night. Instead, they wake up to their worst nightmare: the murder of their daughter.

The police call Paige Northwood to the scene to interpret for the witnesses. They're in shock, but Paige senses the Hunters are hiding something.

One by one, people from Paige's community start to fall under suspicion. But who would kill a little girl?

Was it an intruder?

Or was the murderer closer to home?

This mystery will keep you up all night - perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Cara Hunter. Don't miss Silent Night, the second book in the series.
'Sinister, layered, atmospheric ... I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough' Debbie Howells

'A nail-biting page-turner of a thriller ... The sense of a community isolated, and all the conflicts and tensions that brings, adds satisfying layers of complexity' James Oswald

'Delicate, brutal, impossible to put down. The Silent House is a disquieting thriller' Ross Armstrong

'A unique, chilling, fast-paced read that plunges you into a world of silence that has so much to say' Deborah Masson

'A superb innovation for the crime genre ... a brilliantly terrifying premise and a twisty, gripping tale' Philippa East

Author: 
Nell Pattison
Imprint: 
London: Avon, 2020
Tags: 
Spirits Among the Ruins
Summary: 

Set in Scotland, this fourth installment in the series provides readers with an exciting adventure from the present day to the past. As the family gets ready for a wedding and the investiture of a new laird, fingers are crossed that the spirit of Sir Malcolm does not interrupt. Join Kateri, Lady Victoria, Leigh Ann and Dawn, four pre-teen deaf and hard of hearing cousins and blood relations of Sir Malcolm, as they share their adventure of investigating hauntings, lake monsters and a knight who needs help in this otherworldly episode. Spirits Among the Ruins is a great story for middle and high school students.

Author: 
Catherine Paul
Imprint: 
Tucson, AZ: F.A.M.E. Press, c2012
Read My Lips
Title:
Summary: 

Popularity is as easy as a good secret.

Serena just wants to fly under the radar at her new school. But Serena is deaf, and she can read lips really well-even across the busy cafeteria. So when the popular girls discover her talent, there's no turning back.

From skater chick to cookie-cutter prep, Serena's identity has done a 180...almost. She still wants to date Miller, the school rebel, and she's not ready to trade her hoodies for pink tees just yet. But she is rising through the ranks in the school's most exclusive clique.

With each new secret she uncovers, Serena feels pressure to find out more. Reading lips has always been her greatest talent, but now Serena just feels like a gigantic snoop...

Author: 
Teri Brown
Imprint: 
New York: Simon Pulse, 2008
Strong Deaf
Title:
Summary: 

Jade is the only hearing member in her family. Her older sister gets to go to the school for the deaf headed by her grandfather Gilbert, but Jade feels left out. Marla thinks her little sister is a pest and a brat. When they end up on the same softball team for the summer, neither is happy about it. Jade, the smallest player on the team, is assigned to be the catcher. It looks like it’s going to be a long season. As sisters, they are often at loggerheads, but as team mates Jade and Marla have to find ways to get along. In spite of their differences, they soon discover that each has a lot to offer the other.

Author: 
Lynn McElfresh
Imprint: 
South Hampton, N.H.: Namelos, c2012
Subscribe to Fiction