A state or Nat'l certification allows one to apply for a license to work, and the appropriate license level is required prior to working in a specific field (i.e. legal, medical, performing arts, etc.)
Illinois Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Commission
Application fee- $50, Initial License Fee- $175, Renewal fee- $150, late renewal fee- $60, Inactive Status Fee- $50, restoration license fee- $75 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $1500, duplicate license fee $20, fee for certification of a licensee's record for any reason will be $20, fee for wall certificate showing licensure $20
Sec. 65. Illinois Board of Interpreters. (a) The Director shall appoint an Illinois Board of Interpreters for the Deaf consisting of 7 voting members who shall serve in an advisory capacity to the Commission and to the Department. The Director shall consider recommendations by consumer and professional groups related to the interpreting profession and deaf and hard of hearing community. The Board shall be composed of 4 licensed interpreters for the deaf, 3 deaf or hard of hearing consumers, and the Interpreter Coordinator who shall serve as a non-voting member. (b) The initial Board shall be appointed no later than January 31, 2008. (c) The Board shall meet no less than 2 times per year and may hold additional meetings as required in the performance of its duties. (d) The members shall be appointed to serve 4-year terms and shall serve until successors are appointed and qualified, except that initial appointments shall be staggered with one member appointed to serve for one year, 2 members appointed to serve for 2 years, 2 members appointed to serve for 3 years, and 2 members appointed to serve for 4 years. No member shall be eligible to serve more than 2 consecutive terms. A vacancy in the Board shall be filled by appointment by the Director for the remainder of the unexpired term. Those interpreter members appointed initially must qualify for and obtain licensure under this Act on or before July 1, 2009. (e) In making appointments, the Director shall attempt to ensure that various ethnic and geographic regions of the State are properly represented. (f) The membership of the Board shall reflect the differences in certification, experience, education, and background and knowledge of interpreting for the deaf and evaluation. (g) The Director may terminate the appointment of any member for misconduct, inefficiency, incompetence, or neglect of his or her official duties. (h) The Board shall make recommendations to the Director in establishing guidelines for policies and procedures under this Act. Notice of proposed rulemaking shall be transmitted to the Board and the Director shall review the response, with the exception of the need for emergency rulemaking. (i) The Director shall consider the recommendation of the Board on all matters and questions relating to this Act. (j) The Board shall annually elect from its membership a chairperson, vice chairperson, and a secretary. (k) Members of the Board shall be reimbursed for all authorized legitimate and necessary expenses incurred in attending the meetings of the Board. (l) A majority of the Board members currently appointed shall constitute a quorum. A vacancy in the membership of the Board shall not impair the right of a quorum to perform all of the duties of the Board. (m) Except in cases of willful and wanton misconduct, members shall be immune from suit in any action based upon any disciplinary proceedings or other acts performed in good faith as members of the Board. (Source: P.A. 95-617, eff. 9-12-07.)
An applicant for a license as a sign language interpreter shall provide proof of a current and valid acceptable certificate. Based upon the accepted certificate, a proficiency level, as determined under Section 1515.90, will be indicated on the license. a) Acceptable certificates for a provisional license include any of the following: 1) Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) 3.5 or above and/or Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) certification based on EIPA evaluation; 2) Interpreter Skills Assessment Screening (ISAS) Interpreting Level 1 or 2; 3) Interpreter Skills Assessment Screening (ISAS) Transliterating Level 1 or 2; 4) Missouri Interpreter Certification Novice or Apprentice; 5) Illinois Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Test of English Proficiency (TEP) or other state's BEI TEP; 6) Deaf Interpreters, with a minimum of 8 contact hours of training on the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct, and/or a state accredited college or university course including the Code of Professional Conduct and 8 contact hours on the role and responsibilities of Certified Deaf Interpreter, both completed within 3 years prior to the date of application; or 7) Until January 1, 2011, an interpreter who cannot provide any of the certificates required by this subsection (a), but who maintained a valid and unencumbered registration with the Commission on July 1, 2007 under the Interpreters for the Deaf Act [225 ILCS 442, repealed January 1, 2009]. b) Acceptable certificates for a license with an intermediate proficiency level include any of the following: 1) Interpreter Skills Assessment Screening (ISAS) Interpreting Level 3 or above; 2) Interpreter Skills Assessment Screening (ISAS) Transliterating Level 3 or above; 3) RID Interpretation Certificate (IC); 4) RID Transliteration Certificate (TC); 5) RID IC/TC; 6) Testing Evaluation and Certification Unit Inc. (TECUnit); 7) Missouri Interpreter Certification Intermediate; 8) Illinois BEI or other state's BEI Intermediate Level; 9) Deaf Interpreters with the required training under a provisional license and proof of passing a generalized knowledge based test provided by the Commission; or 10) Licensure in other states based on qualifications similar to those listed in this subsection (b). c) Acceptable certificates for a license with an advanced proficiency level include any of the following: 1) Interpreter Skills Assessment Screening (ISAS) Interpreting Level 4 or above and ISAS Transliterating Level 4 or above; 2) RID-CI; 3) RID-CT; 4) National Interpreter Certification (NIC); 5) National Association of the Deaf Certificate Level 3 or 4; 6) Missouri Interpreter Certification Advanced; 7) Illinois BEI or other state's BEI Advanced Level; 8) Deaf Interpreters with the required training under a provisional license and proof of passing the RID-CDI knowledge based test; or 9) Licensure in other states based on qualifications similar to those listed in this subsection (c). d) Acceptable certificates for a license with a master proficiency level include any of the following: 1) RID-CI/CT; 2) RID-Comprehensive Skills Certificate (CSC); 3) RID-Master Comprehensive Skills Certificate (MCSC); 4) RID-Reverse Skills Certificate (RSC); 5) RID-Certified Deaf Interpreter (CDI); 6) RID Specialist Certificate: Legal (SC:L) (applies to acceptance of legal assignments only under Section 1515.90); 7) National Association of the Deaf Certificate Level 5; 8) Missouri Interpreter Certificate Comprehensive; 9) National Interpreter Certification (NIC) Advanced or Master; 10) Illinois BEI or other state's BEI Master Level; or 11) Licensure in other states based on qualifications similar to those listed in this subsection (d). (Source: Amended at 35 Ill. Reg. 4775, effective March 14, 2011)
20 hours as of 2013, allowing for carryover.