A task force is meeting to draft licensure that will hopefully go into effect July 2016
Board for Sign Language Interpreters
Members appointed by Governor: 3 nominated by Idaho Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, 2 nominated by Idaho Association of the Deaf 4 year terms (no member may serve more than two terms consecutively)
A person providing interpreting service in a general setting must be licensed by the Board unless exempt pursuant to section 6 License issued upon submission of: Application, Documented current validation of national/state recognized credential as approved, Sworn statement to abide by code of ethics for sign language interpreters, Payment, License must be renewed annually by the Board, Documented current validation of national/state recognized credential as approved by the Board, Documentation of one (1) Continuing Education Unit, Payment
80 hours every 5 years
A graduate of an interpreter education program may work as an educational interpreter before meeting the requirements of the minimum standard for one year, following graduation. At that time, the interpreter needs to show that they meet the minimum standard. Educational interpreters that have not worked in a public school setting in Idaho, prior to the July 1, 2009 implementation date, may apply in writing to the Bureau Board for an emergency authorization. This emergency authorization, if granted, will allow an interpreter to work as an educational interpreter for two years before being required to meet the minimum standard requirement.
Grievance Process, misdemeanor and fine up to $5,000, fines for hiring unlicensed interpreter,