Idaho

Standards:
Schools
EIPA 4.0+ or RID recognized exam, passed within past 20 years
None Required
Off
Licensure
Effective July 1, 2018 signed language interpreters are required to have a valid license from the Idaho Bureau of Occupations Licenses (IBOL) to interpret in the State of Idaho, with few exceptions. This Act does not mandate the use of a signed language interpreter. This requirement is from IC § 54-2904(5)
Governing Body
Idaho Bureau of Occupations Licenses (IBOL)
Fee(s)
Original License
- Application fee $25.00
- License fee $70.00
Provisional License
- Application fee $25.00
- Provisional Permit fee $70.00
Out of State (Endorsement) License
- Application fee $25.00
- License fee $70.00
Deaf Interpreter Registration
- No charge
Out of State Registration (work up to 30 days)
- Registration fee $10.00
Board
TITLE 54
PROFESSIONS, VOCATIONS, AND BUSINESSES
CHAPTER 29
SPEECH AND HEARING SERVICES PRACTICE ACT
54-2908. SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD. (1) There is hereby established in the department of self-governing agencies a speech, hearing and communication services licensure board. The board shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the governor. The governor may consider recommendations for appointment to the board from the Idaho speech, language, hearing association, inc. (ISHA), any Idaho association of hearing aid dealers and fitters, any Idaho association of sign language interpreters and any individual residing in this state. Two (2) members of the board shall be speech-language pathologists, one (1) member shall be licensed as a sign language interpreter, two (2) members shall be audiologists, one (1) member shall be a hearing aid dealer and fitter, and one (1) member shall be appointed from the public at-large. Each nonpublic member shall:
(a) Have been a resident of the state of Idaho for no less than one (1) year immediately preceding his or her appointment;
(b) Have been engaged in rendering services to the public, teaching, or performing research in the field of audiology, speech-language pathology, sign language interpreting, or hearing aid dealing and fitting for a period of not less than five (5) years preceding his or her appointment;
(c) Be a currently practicing audiologist, speech-language pathologist, sign language interpreter, or hearing aid dealer and fitter; and
(d) At all times during such appointment to the board, maintain a valid license in audiology, speech-language pathology, sign language interpreting, or hearing aid dealing and fitting, except for the first appointees who shall meet the eligibility requirements for licensure as specified in this chapter at all times after initial appointment.
(2) The public member appointed as provided herein shall have been a resident of the state of Idaho for not less than one (1) year immediately preceding his appointment. Further, such public member shall not be associated with or financially interested in the practice or business of audiology, speech-language pathology, sign language interpreting, or hearing aid dealing and fitting, nor shall such public member be engaged in an allied or related profession or occupation.
(3) Members shall serve a term of three (3) years at the pleasure of the governor. In the event of a vacancy other than expiration of a term, the governor shall appoint a replacement to fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term.
(4) Members shall disqualify themselves and, upon the motion of any interested party may, upon proper showing, be disqualified in any proceeding concerning which they have an actual conflict of interest or bias that interferes with their fair and impartial service.
Qualifications
What are the requirements for obtaining a license?
- Application submitted
- 18 years of age
- Pass a competency examination or achieved certification as defined by board rule
+Both written and performance tests
- Obtained High School diploma or equivalent
- No felonies
- License fee paid

What credentials do I need to get a license from the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses to interpret in Idaho?
Certifications accepted – must be current and valid:
- RID
- CASLI
- NAD
- BEI: Basic or intermediate (pre-2014)
- Utah: Professional or Master level

Accepted Exams: Require BOTH Written and performance – Can mix-and-match
- Written (NIC, CDI, EIPA, or any state-issued interpreting generalist written exam)
- Performance (EIPA 4.0+ or RID recognized exam, passed within past 20 years)
CEUs
10 hours annually
Special Provisions
When are interpreters exempt from needing a license in the State of Idaho?

- ITP Students work under the supervision of licensed interpreters
- Deaf Interpreter (Must be registered)
- Certified Out-of-state Interpreters (Must be registered & not to exceed 30 days)
- Religious setting such as a church, synagogue, or other worship setting
- Private, non-commercial, family event
- Inconsequential situation: level of significance is such as that a licensed interpreter would not be deemed necessary for effective communication
- Temporarily in exigent/ emergency circumstance
- Courts and court services (abide by ICAR Rule 52)
Penalties
A violation of the provisions of this chapter (TITLE 54 - PROFESSIONS, VOCATIONS, AND BUSINESSES; CHAPTER 29 - SPEECH AND HEARING SERVICES PRACTICE ACT) shall constitute a misdemeanor and any person convicted thereof shall be fined an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or imprisoned in a county jail for a period not to exceed six (6) months, or shall be punished by both such fine and imprisonment.