QAST 3/2 or 2/3 & written exam
Recent legislation has passed for state licensure for ALL settings. the finalization of what will be recognized for specific settings is going through rule promulgation now, thus more specifics will be available mid-year 2014. The licensure law recognizes, RID, NAD, EIPA, QAST, BEI and Cued Speech credentials and will identify what each credential will be able to do.
The Advisory Board for Interpreters between Hearing Individuals and Individuals who are Deaf, Deafblind, Hard of Hearing, or Oral Deaf is created within the Department of Health.
Initial Application and licensure fee $125, annual fee $90, upgrade fee $35, annual late fee $25, replacement card fee $10, insufficient funds fee $35
The board shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Director of the Department of Health as follows: Four (4) licensed qualified interpreters appointed from a list of eight (8) submitted by the Arkansas Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf in conjunction with the Arkansas Association of the Deaf; Two (2) members appointed from a list of four (4) submitted by the Arkansas Association of the Deaf in conjunction with the Arkansas Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf who are deaf persons, hard of hearing persons, or oral deaf persons not licensed under this subchapter; and One (1) member appointed from a list of two (2) submitted by the Arkansas Association of the Deaf in conjunction with the Arkansas 5 Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf who are neither individuals who are deaf, deafblind, hard of hearing, or oral deaf and who are not licensed under this subchapter. Each member shall serve a term of three (3) years. A member shall not serve more than two (2) consecutive terms. Four (4) members of the board constitute a quorum for the transaction of business of the board. If a vacancy occurs on the board, the director shall appoint to complete the term vacated a person who possesses the same qualifications as those required for the position to which he or she is appointed.
Interpreters in the educational setting must meet or exceed the following criteria: 1. College degree preferred or high school diploma or equivalency. 2. Passing score of 80% on the written test regarding information in the Arkansas Handbook for Educational Interpreter/Transliterators, Teachers and Administrators. 3. Minimum Level 3 in Transliterating on the Mid-America Quality Assurance Screening Test (QAST) and Level 2 in Interpreting or minimum QAST Level 3 in Interpreting and QAST Level 2 in Transliterating.
A total of ten (10) clock hours (10 clock hours = 1.0 CEU) of continuing education must be completed on an annual basis.
For interpreters who begin working but don't have their QAST, there is an outline of time they need to obtain certain levels by.
Complaints may be filed when an individual, hiring agency, or interpreting agency: 1. violates the Professional Code of Conduct; 2. Engages in the practice of interpreting without a license (fine of $100-500 which may be waived if the interpreter becomes licensed within 30 days); or 3. Knowingly hires an interpreter who is not qualified (fine of $500-1000).