EIPA 3.5+, NAD 3+, CI, CT, NIC
Arizona Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing
$25 for provisional with $25 renewal on birthday, $125 for Legal and General with $50 renewal . A provisional license shall not be renewed more than two times and must prove they take the performance exam before their 2nd renewal date
14 commissioners appointed by the Governor oversee the work of ACDHH: Four Deaf representatives, Four Hard of Hearing representatives, One parent of a Deaf or Hard of Hearing child, One member who is a licensed sign language interpreter, One licensed hearing aid dispenser, One clinical audiologist representative, One representative from the Arizona Department of Economic Security, One representative from the Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind
Amount of items required differs with each type of license: proof of ID, photocopy of diplomas/GED, Arizona Statement of Citizenship & Alien Status for Public Benefits, proof of hours of education in interpreter preparation training, proof of passing RID written exam, proof of hours work experience, signature to follow NAD-RID Code of Ethics, EIPA score, ACCI certification, agreement form, teaming agreement form
Licensure does not apply to: Interpreters working in the state for fewer than 20 days. Interpreters for religious activities. Interpreters providing service in an emergency situation. Interpreters who work on a voluntary basis, in non-legal situations. There is a teaming and mentoring program. VRI interpreters have to be licensed. No reciprocity with other states.
A person not licensed shall not falsely identify themselves as a licensed interpreter, practice as an interpreter, or use another person’s license. Violation is a class 2 misdemeanor (up to four months in jail / up to $750 fine for persons or up to a $10,000 fine for enterprises)