Nat'l, licensure for legal
Licensure for Mental Health settings
The Alabama Licensure Board for Interpreters and Transliterators
Application fee: $50, Initial and renewal fee for licenses: $175, initial and renewal fee for permits: $125, returned check fee: $35, late fee: $100, replacement of license or permit: $25, roster fee: $35
Consists of nine members appointed by the Governor as follows: (1) Four members certified as interpreters or transliterators at a professional level by a nationally recognized certification, one of whom shall work in an educational setting. A list of three nominations for each of these positions shall be submitted to the Governor by ALRID. (2) Three deaf or hard of hearing members who are knowledgeable in the field of professional interpreting. A list of three nominations for each of these positions shall be submitted to the Governor by AAD. (3) Two members at-large who have an interest in and are experienced in dealing with issues that affect the deaf, hard of hearing, and interpreting communities. (1) Four of the initial members shall serve for two years. (2) Three of the initial members shall serve for three years. (3) Two of the initial members shall serve for four years. (f) Subsequent terms of office shall be four years. No board member may serve more than two consecutive terms.
High school diploma/GED, three letters of recommendation from licensed interpreters to verify skill level, notarized application, current RID membership card, notarized copy of documentation of applicant's passing a board approved code of ethics exam, documentation of earned CEUs, documentation of current employment as an interpreter submitted on letterhead of employer
2.0 CEUs per 12 month cycle
The following persons shall be exempt from licensure or permitting pursuant to this chapter: (1) Any student who is enrolled in a formal American sign language program, a formal interpreter training program, or a formal interpreter or transliterator internship program. The student shall be allowed to interpret or transliterate as part of his or her training for a maximum of 16 weeks in an educational setting or 120 hours in an agency or business. (2) Any person who interprets or transliterates solely in a church, synagogue, temple, or other religious setting. (3) Any person residing outside of the State of Alabama may provide interpreting and transliterating services for up to 14 working days per calendar year without a license. The board may grant exemptions status from licensure or permitting for a period of 90 days for only the following reasons: a) A catastrophic emergency, including protracted illness under the care of a physician, reasonable precludes the meeting of CEU requirements or compliance of testing in a timely manner to receive certification before March 15th. Failure to receive test results shall not be grounds for this exemption. b) Unavailability of a test approved by the Board or lack of sufficient training and preparatory opportunities leading to testing. c) Service by a military person on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States. Which precludes them from reasonably completing the requirements for licensure or Permitting. State reciprocity.
Class C misdemeanor.