Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)

Utah

Standards
Schools: 
State, Nat'l, EIPA 3.5-3.9 have 4 years to get over 4.0, (Elementary is limited to K-6 classroom settings only; Secondary is limited to 7-12 classroom settings only)
Courts: 
State or Nat'l
State Agencies: 
State or Nat'l
Medical: 
State or Nat'l
All Venues: 
State or Nat'l
Notes: 
All interpreter in the State of Utah are required to be either State of Utah certified or hold RID. Those in public education need to hold either Utah Certification, RID, or EIPA @ 3.5 or above.
Licensure: 
Yes
Governing Body: 
Utah Interpreter Program
Fee(s): 
Written Exam: $60, Novice Level Performance Exam $150, Professional Level Performance Exam: $150
Board: 
Consists of the following 11 members: (a) a designee of the director of the Division of Services to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DSDHH) in the Utah State Office of Rehabilitation; (b) a designee of the State Board of Regents; (c) a designee of the State Board of Education; (d) four professional interpreters, recommended by the director of DSDHH; and (e) four persons who are hearing impaired, recommended by the director of DSDHH.
Qualifications: 
Utah Law states, “an individual is required to be certified as a certified interpreter if that individual provides interpreter service” (Utah Code 53A-26a-301). All working interpreters in the State must have their certification issued or recognized by the Division of Services to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: Utah Interpreter Program. Interpreters possessing certification issued either by the State of Utah or acceptable National Organizations (NAD, RID, EIPA) may provide interpreting services in the State, provided they are in compliance with the requirements for certification and recognition set forth in the policies and procedures of the Utah Interpreter Program. There are two certification levels which can be attempted in Utah. The Novice Level is an introductory level, intended to give interpreters that do not yet possess the skill to work at a professional level a chance to work and develop their skills. They have four years to advance to the Professional level of Certification.
CEUs: 
Utah Novice Level Certification: 20 hours each cycle year plus $70, Utah Professional Level Certification: 60 hours in a 3 year period, annual fee of $70, RID/NAD/NIC: follow standards set by certification plus pay recognition fee of $50, EIPA: 3.5-3.9 = this is the probationary score range for the EIPA, and is valid for a 4 year period. At the end of four years recognition cannot be renewed unless the interpreter has advanced to a higher score (4.0 or above). Interpreters are required to complete 20 CEHs annually. Additionally, they must complete and remit their recognition renewal form and fee ($70). 4.0 and above = this score range is considered a sustainable or professional level. Interpreters are required to complete 20 CEHs annually. Additionally, they must complete and remit their recognition renewal form and fee ($70).
Special Provisions: 
Utah Novice Level Certification: 20 hours each cycle year plus $70, Utah Professional Level Certification: 60 hours in a 3 year period, annual fee of $70, RID/NAD/NIC: follow standards set by certification plus pay recognition fee of $50, EIPA: 3.5-3.9 = this is the probationary score range for the EIPA, and is valid for a 4 year period. At the end of four years recognition cannot be renewed unless the interpreter has advanced to a higher score (4.0 or above). Interpreters are required to complete 20 CEHs annually. Additionally, they must complete and remit their recognition renewal form and fee ($70). 4.0 and above = this score range is considered a sustainable or professional level. Interpreters are required to complete 20 CEHs annually. Additionally, they must complete and remit their recognition renewal form and fee ($70).
Penalties: 
Violation of the laws — such as interpreting above your certification skill level, Code of Ethics violations, etc.– may result in a Class B Misdemeanor (up to a $1850 fine and six months in jail) and loss of your certification.