Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)

Rhode Island

Standards
Schools: 
State or Nat'l
Courts: 
State or Nat'l
State Agencies: 
State or Nat'l
Medical: 
State or Nat'l
All Venues: 
State or Nat'l
Notes: 
A person must be licensed in order to practice the profession according to CHAPTER 5-71, Interpreters for the Deaf. Must have national certification or passed state screening.
Licensure: 
Yes: certified license for certified interpreters, screened license for state screened interpreters who have passed RID written, and a temporary (student) license where the interpreter must be enrolled in an ITP
Governing Body: 
Board of Interpreters for the Deaf
Fee(s): 
$25.00 for Interpreter or Transliterator (If applying for both licenses, two separate applications are required and the fee is $50.00 )
Board: 
"The board shall consist of five (5) persons who shall be residents of the state of Rhode Island for at least two (2) years prior to their appointments: three (3) nationally certified interpreters, and two (2) consumers. (b) All appointments made under this section shall be made by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. In making appointments to the board, the governor shall give consideration to recommendations made by the commission on the deaf and hard-of-hearing established pursuant to _ 23-1.8-1. All members shall serve terms of three (3) years. Members shall serve until the expiration of the term for which they have been appointed or until their successor is appointed. No person shall be appointed to serve more than two (2) consecutive terms. When a vacancy upon the board occurs, a replacement shall be appointed for the remainder of that term as prescribed in this section. (c) The board shall reorganize annually during the month of December and shall elect a chairperson and vice chairperson for the subsequent calendar year. The board may elect from among its members such other officers as it deems necessary. (d) Three (3) members of the board shall constitute a quorum to do business. A majority vote of those present shall be required for action. (e) Members of the board shall be removable by the governor pursuant to the provisions of _ 36-1-7 of the general laws and for cause only, and removal solely for partisan or personal reasons unrelated to capacity or fitness for the office shall be unlawful. http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-71/5-71-4.HTM "
Qualifications: 
"´ Recent passport type photograph (Approx. 2î X 2î head and shoulder view). ´ Birth certificate (original or a copy notarized as being a true copy of the original), or if born outside the United States, proof of citizenship or lawful alien status, (original or a copy notarized as being a true copy of the original). ´ Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) certification or state screening, sent directly from RID or the state to the Board ´ If application is by a state screening, evidence of successful completion of the RID generalist written exam is required OR evidence of completion of coursework in ASL, Deaf Culture and the Code of Ethics is required (refer to Section 2.2 (d) of the Regulations). ´ License Verifications from the state(s) in which applicant holds or has held a license (Endorsement applicants only). ´ Mandatory Addendum to License Application - Verification of Social Security Number
CEUs: 
5 hours each year
Special Provisions: 
In the event of an emergency, the consumer may elect to use the services of a nonlicensed interpreter or transliterator.