Board Of Licensing For Interpreters For The Deaf And Hard Of Hearing
Application fee $50, License fee: $150 for 3 years
"The board shall consist of 9 members as follows: (a) Four licensed interpreters, at least 2 of whom are national level licensees, from a list of names submitted by the New Hampshire Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf in conjunction with the New Hampshire Association of the Deaf. (b) Five consumers, including 3 deaf persons from a list of names submitted by the New Hampshire Association of the Deaf, one consumer of oral interpreting services, and a non-deaf member of the public not licensed under this chapter. Appointments to the board shall be for 3 years, except that one of the initial interpreter members and one of the initial consumer members shall serve one-year terms, and one of the initial interpreter members and one of the initial consumer members shall serve 2-year terms. A member shall hold office until a successor has been appointed and qualified. No member may serve more than 2 consecutive terms."
Be at least 18 years old, Demonstrate sufficient evidence of good professional character and reliability to satisfy the board that the applicant shall faithfully and conscientiously avoid professional misconduct and otherwise adhere to the requirements of this chapter. An interpreter for the deaf and hard of hearing certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, the National Association of the Deaf, or the New Hampshire Interpreter classification process prior to the effective date of this chapter shall be accepted for licensure by the board, at the appropriate license level, without examination, provided that all such certified persons comply with all other requirements of the board under this chapter
"The following persons shall be exempt from the license requirements of this chapter: (a) Nonresident interpreters certified by the National Registry of Interpreters of the Deaf (RID) or the American Consortium of Certified Interpreters (ACCI), levels IV and V, who have completed RID-approved legal training or who hold a legal specialty certificate (RID SC:L) when working in court settings, provided that such interpreter shall be subject to disciplinary proceedings of the board. (b) Interpreters for the deaf and hard of hearing working in religious settings. (c) Interpreters working in emergency situations where the parties determine that the delay to obtain a licensed interpreter is likely to cause injury or loss. (d) Students exempted under RSA 326-I:8. (e) Interpreters employed by a school district for a K-12 program. (f) Court reporters licensed under RSA 310-A:161_RSA 310-A:181 while employed as court reporters."
Class A misdemeanor and may, in addition, be subject to a civil penalty of up to $2000 per offense or, in the case of a continuing offense, $250 for each day the violation continues.