Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)

Kentucky

Standards
Schools: 
Nat'l
Courts: 
Nat'l
State Agencies: 
Nat'l
Medical: 
Nat'l
All Venues: 
Nat'l
Notes: 
"To work in the Commonwealth you must be licensed, and to be licensed you must be nationally certified, with few exceptions. See ""Laws and Regulations Relating to Licensure as an Interpreter"" as published by the Kentucky Board of Interpreters f/t Deaf/HoH There is a bit of difference between pre-K-12 schools and postsecondary (PS). One may interpret in both settings with a temporary license (undisclosed as to how many times one can renew a temp). However, it depends on how one achieved that temp license. The temp licensee must have an NAD 3 to interpret PS (doesn't include interns). The SCPI - which doesn't measure interpreting proficiency, only communication skills - will result in a temp license that can be used in Pre & K-12 settings. The state is now looking at this and is watching what RID does with that Educational Evil. There are those who say national certification only - RID or NAD 4/5, those who want RID 3 to come under full licensure, those who push for the SCPI ... There are still schools that try to evade the licensure issue by calling the position something other than ""interpreter."""
Licensure: 
http://www.kbi.ky.gov/Pages/regulations.aspx
Governing Body: 
The Kentucky Board of Interpreters for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Fee(s): 
$50 application fee, $125/yearly licensure, same fees for temporary licensure, late fee $60, extension fees $35, reinstatement fee $125, reciprocal license $250, duplicate license fee $10.
Board: 
(1) There is hereby created a board to be known as the "Kentucky Board of Interpreters for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing." (2) The board shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Governor as follows: (a) Five (5) practicing interpreters who hold current nationally recognized certification and have at least five (5) years interpreting experience; (b) One (1) deaf interpreter with past or current nationally recognized certification; and (c) One (1) consumer with knowledge about interpreter issues. (3) After the initial term of each appointment, all members shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years. (4) Board members shall not be allowed to succeed themselves but a former member may be reappointed to the board if that member has not served in the preceding four (4) years. (5) The members of the board shall receive no compensation for their services on the board, but they shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties. (6) The board shall annually elect a chairman, a vice chairman, and a secretary-treasurer from the members of the board. (7) The board shall hold at least one (1) meeting annually and additional meetings as the board may deem necessary. The additional meetings may be held upon call of the chairman or upon written request of a quorum. Four (4) members of the board shall constitute a quorum to conduct business. There is also a Policy Committee: (1) There is hereby created a committee to be known as the "Kentucky Board of Interpreters for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Policy Committee." (2) The committee shall consist of ten (10) members as follows: (a) The president or a designee of: 1. Kentucky Association of the Deaf; and 2. Kentucky Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf; (b) A representative from: 1. Kentucky Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (KCDHH); 2. Eastern Kentucky University Interpreter Training Program; 3. Kentucky Department of Education; 4. Kentucky Office of Vocational Rehabilitation; 5. Kentucky School for the Deaf; and 6. Cabinet for Health and Family Services; and (c) Two (2) members at large, who are consumers, appointed by the board. (3) The members of the committee shall receive no compensation for their services on the committee. The member from the Kentucky Association of the Deaf, the member from the Kentucky Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, and the at-large members shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their committee duties.
Qualifications: 
"(1) Submit a completed Application for Licensure form to the board; (2) Pay the application and license fee as set forth in 201 KAR 39:040; and (3) Submit proof of valid certification: (a) At a level recognized by RID, with the exception of NAD III; (b) At EIPA level 3.5 and passage of the EIPA written if applying prior to July 1, 2013; (c) TEC Unit; or (d) Other certifications as described in 201 KAR 39:080, if applying for licensure via reciprocity."
CEUs: 
A minimum of fifteen (15) continuing education hours shall be accrued by each licensee during the licensure period for renewal for the following year. A minimum of three (3) total continuing education hours shall be related to ethics. A licensee may carry over continuing education hours earned in excess. http://www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/039/090.htm
Special Provisions: 
The board may issue a temporary license as an interpreter to an applicant who is certified at a level below that required for licensure in subsection (1) of this section. A temporary license shall be available for a person who is training under the supervision of a licensed interpreter under circumstances defined by the board in administrative regulation. A temporary license is valid for only a certain period until the licensee achieves the minimum level of certification required for licensure under subsection (1) of this section. A temporary license is not renewable although extensions may be granted under circumstances defined by administrative regulation. (a) For graduates of a baccalaureate interpreter training program, a temporary license shall be valid for up to one (1) year. (b) For graduates of an associate of arts interpreter training program, a temporary license shall be valid for up to two (2) years. (c) For nondegree applicants, a temporary license shall be valid for up to two (2) years.
Penalties: 
Any person who shall violate or aid in the violation of any of the provisions of KRS 309.301 shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.