Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (Central)

Alaska

Standards
Schools: 
The state requires a 4.0 or above on the EIPA for Educational Interpreters. This went into effect September of 2005. You can find the source in the Special Education Handbook on page 125 under Personnel. http://www.asdk12.org/forms/uploads/AK_SPED_Handbook.pdf
Licensure: 
****There was a bill but I'm not sure if it passed and the board specified cannot be found online
Governing Body: 
Alaska State Board of American Sign Language Interpreters
Board: 
Consisting of five members appointed by the governor, two of whom are hearing sign language interpreters licensed under this chapter and certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf or licensed under this chapter, certified by the National Association of the Deaf, and holding associate memberships in the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf; one of whom is licensed under this chapter and certified as a deaf interpreter by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf; one public member who is deaf; and one public member who is not deaf but who has knowledge of or is familiar with the unique requirements and obligations of interpreting for the deaf.
Qualifications: 
License: (a) The board shall issue an interpreter license to a person who pays the required fees and submits satisfactory documentation that the applicant is (1) certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf; or (2) an associate member of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf and is certified at level four or five by the National Association of the Deaf. (b) If the licensee holds a Specialist Certificate Legal from the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, the board shall note that on the license issued to the person under this chapter. Provisional License: person is an associate member of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf who has completed (1) an interpreter training program or interpreter preparation program; or (2) 300 hours of documented interpreter experience and 50 hours of interpreter education through workshops and seminars. (b) A provisional license is valid for two years and may be renewed only one time.
Penalties: 
Class B misdemeanor